Series by Mrs. E[lizabeth] M. Bruce

Life Stories for Children

series title page: Life Stories
  1. Little Red Cloak; or, Truth Better Than Falsehood (1863)
  2. Little Ben, the Errand Boy (1863)
  3. Aunt Eleanor's Childhood Memories (1863)
      Online at Google Books
  4. Georgy King and His Three Little Pets (1863)
  5. The Sun-Beam; A Sequel to Georgy King and His Pets. (1863)
      Online at Google Books
  6. The Palfreys; or, Generosity Rewarded by Mrs. S. C. Edgarton Mayo (1863)
      Online at Google Books

It's probable that only volumes 4 and 5 have characters in common; despite the series title page, the others were probably bundled to make a six-volume boxed set.

Happy Heart Series

  1. A Little Light (1874)
  2. Borrowing (1874)
  3. Open Doors (1874)
  4. Patient Johnny (1874)
  5. Merry Madge (1874)
  6. The May Party (1874)

Helpful Hand Series

series title page: Helpful Hand
  1. A Week of Life, vol. 1 (1880)
  2. A Week of Life, vol. 2 (1880)
  3. Robby and Nellie in Business (1880)
  4. Robby and Nellie at School (1880)
          Read online
  5. Robby and Nellie and Susie (1880)
  6. The Silver Shadow, and Other Stories (1880)

Volume 2 continues the story from volume 1, but is probably unrelated to volumes 3-5, which are a traditional series with characters in common. Volume 3 was serialized in The Myrtle before book publication. Volume 6 is a collection of unrelated short stories.

Return to main page

Copyright 2010 by Deidre Johnson . Please do not reproduce without permission