Girls' series by Elizabeth Stuart Phelps [Ward]

Gypsy Breynton

Gypsy cover and frontis
  1. Gypsy Breynton (1866)
      Online as illustrated html
  2. Gypsy's Cousin Joy (1866)
      Online at Project Gutenberg
  3. Gypsy's Sowing and Reaping (1866)
      Online at Internet Archive
  4. Gypsy's Year at the Golden Crescent (1867)
      Online at Google Books




Tiny and her mother (frontis.)
  1. Ellen's Idol (1864)
  2. Tiny (1864)
      Chapter 1 of Tiny
  3. Tiny's Sunday Nights (1867)
        Online at Google Book Search
  4. I Don't Know How (1867)

(The series features two sisters, Ellen and Tiny, and is for a younger audience than Gypsy Breynton.)

Titles and series order for the Tiny series courtesy of Jennifer Gehrman, whose dissertation, "'Where lies her margin, where her text?' Configurations of womanhood in the works of Elizabeth Stuart Phelps" (1996), includes a chapter on both series.

Return to main page

Copyright 2009 by Deidre Johnson . Please do not reproduce without permission