Series by Sarah Stuart Robbins (Mrs. S. S. Robbins)

Win and Wear

  1. Win and Wear (1863)
      Online at Internet Archive
  2. Tony Starr's Legacy; or, Trust in a Covenant-Keeping God (1863)
      British edition online at Google Books; American edition, at HathiTrust
  3. Faithful and True; or, The Evans Family (1864)
      British edition online at Google Books; American edition, at HathiTrust
  4. Ned's Motto; or, Little by Little (1864?)
      British edition online at Google Books
  5. My New Home; A Woman's Diary (1865)
      Online at Google Books
  6. Turning a New Leaf; or, The Story of Charles Terry (1866)
      Online at Google Books

Robbins's first "series" was Win and Wear, and most of her subsequent titles were published anonymously, as by "The Author of 'Win and Wear.'" Although the books were advertised as the Win and Wear series, they do not appear to share common characters or locations. Most are boys' stories; some series lisings for Win and Wear even add the subtitle "A story for boys."

Green Mountain

  1. Girding on the Armor (1868?)
  2. Robert Linton, and What Life Taught Him (1868)
  3. Weighed in the Balance (1868)
      Online at Google Books
  4. Binding the Sheaves (1867)
  5. Edged Tools (1867)
      Online at Google Books


  1. Squire Downing's Heirs (1868)
      Online at Google Books
  2. Margaret Russel's School (1869)
      Online at Google Books
  3. Busy Bees; or, Winter Evenings in Margaret Russel's School (1870)
      Online at HathiTrust
  4. Grandfather's Nell; or, What Happened at the Toll-gate (1869)
  5. Conant Farm (1871)
  6. Down the Steps (1871)

Butterfly's flights

  1. Butterfly at Mount Mansfield (1869)
  2. Butterfly at Saratoga (1869)
      Online at Google Books
  3. Butterfly at Niagara (1869)
  4. Butterfly's Trip to Montreal (1869)
      Online at Internet Archive
  5. Butterfly at the Sea-side (1869)
  6. Butterfly in Philadelphia. (1869)


  1. Who won (1873)
  2.   Online at Google Books
  3. Mabel Hazard's Thoroughfare (1874)
  4. Doors Outward (1875)
  5. Brentford Parsonage (1876)
      Online at Google Books
  6. Comfort Strong (1876?)
  7. Moore's Forge (1878?)

Cary Sternick's Bibliography of 19th-Century Series Books shows these volumes were reissued in 1892 as part of the Dale and Hillside Series with four additional titles by Robbins: Faith Thurston's Work, Hester Trueworthy's Royalty, Mabel's Stepmother, Robert Graham's Promise. Series order is alphabetical by title, and the works may be unrelated.

The Gillettes

  1. Dick, the Captain of the Family Ship (1885)
  2. Nan, the Missionary (1885)
  3. Jack, Who Persevered (1886)
  4. Bert, the Enterprising Boy (1886)
  5. Babbette; or, Faithfulness (1886)
  6. Will; or, Honesty (1886)

Rock Cove

  1. Gladys Philbrick; How She Was Made Great (1889)
  2. Ben Philbrick Learning To Be Helpful (1889)
  3. Dorothy Ottley Winning by Love (1889)
  4. Dave Philbrick, the Boy with His Foot in the Stirrup (1889)
  5. Sue Downer, What Selfishness Did for Her (1890)
  6. Jerry Downer, Whose School of Courtesy Turned out Good Pupils (1890?)

Aunty May's Children

  1. Ernest; or, No Humbug (1864)
      Online at HathiTrust
  2. Rachel; or, The City without Walls (1864)
      Online at Google Books
  3. Christie; or, Where the Tree Fell (1864)
      Online at Google Books
  4. Faith, the Cripple; or, Songs in the Night (1864)
      Online at Google Books

Initially published anonymously; later editions credited to Robbins.

Return to main page

Copyright 2018 by Deidre Johnson . Please do not reproduce without permission